Online Resources and Databases

All databases can be accessed from designated computers in the library. Most of the databases can also be accessed from home. You will need a valid Osceola Library card to remotely access the databases.

When searching for a specific eBook or eAudio, we recommend checking both hoopla AND cloudLibrary for availability as titles offered may overlap. While hoopla has an extensive back catalog and unlimited users per title, cloudLibrary gives you access to the collections of all participating libraries in Florida. A little shopping gets you the best deal!

Acknowledgement: A significant part of our annual resource funding has been funded under the provisions of the State Aid to Libraries Grant program, administered by the Florida Department of State’s Division of Library and Information Services.

The Osceola Library System has ended its subscription to The Washington Post. Disregard any previous bookmarked links to this service. We now offer free access to The New York Times. Please follow the links below under "Newspapers, Magazines, and Journals."

Ancestry Library Edition (remote access) - Search your ancestry from home. (Remote access is available until December 31, 2021)
Westlaw - Online legal research service. (In library use only. Not accessible remotely.)

eBooks, Audiobooks, and Streaming Media

BiblioBoard Library - eBook collections created by local authors and the community with no holds, no checkout limits, and no waitlists. Enjoy instant and unlimited access to always available titles! 
cloudLibrary - Access your digital Library card and borrow eBooks and Audiobooks from a digital collection of all participating Florida libraries (including ours)
hoopla - Borrow movies, music, audiobooks, eBooks, comics, and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV!
kanopy - Stream classic cinema, indie films, and top documentaries
ODILO - ¡Traiga la biblioteca a su casa con ODILO! Su fuente en línea para libros electrónicos, libros de audio, y mucho más
TumbleBooks Library - A variety of interactive books for children in English, French, and Spanish

Genealogy and History

Ancestry Library Edition - Search your ancestry (In library use only. Not accessible remotely.)
Civil War - This collection consists of contexualized essays and primary sources on the American Civil War. Topics include battles and campaigns, political and religious aspects, experiences of leaders and soldiers, the home front, military life, and emanicpation.
FamilySearch - Browse millions of free genealogical records and images from all over the world. Although FamilySearch is sponsored by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, membership is not required to conduct research; you may leave that section blank. (accessible from home, some records may only be available in Library)
Fold3 - Fold3 Library Edition provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Fold3 (remote access) - Fold3 Library Edition provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. This link is for remote/home access.
Gale: Custom Journal - A catalog of digital materials related to Florida
HeritageHub - Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7.
HeritageQuest Online - A great variety of genealogy resources are available here -- books, articles, and census records are just the beginning

Arts

Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts - Contains thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts - Full-text magazines and journals provide research for topics of drama, music, art history, and film-making

Automotive and Business

AtoZdatabases - Search businesses, people, Mailing Lists and Sales Leads, over 7 million jobs (including résumé and cover letter templates, interviewing tips, and videos), and more.
DMV Driving Permit Practice Test - CDL - Practice driver's test for CDL license.
DMV Driving Permit Practice Test - Motorcycle - Practice test for motorcycle driver's permit,
DMV Driving Permit Practice Tests - Free DMV permit practice tests
Gale Business: DemographicsNow - Provides entrepreneurs, business owners, and students valuable data on the community
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship - Covers all major areas of starting, operating, and maintaining a business
Gale Business: Plan Builder - Business planning can be a complex and unfamiliar process. Gale Business: Plan Builder offers an engaging, step-by-step guided experience–complete with the information and tools needed to move through the entire business development life cycle. The program’s intuitive dashboard walks users through the five essential steps of business planning and explains what each activity is, why it is important in the overall process, and how to get started.
Gale OneFile: Communications & Mass Media - Articles on all aspects of the communications field
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory - Provides articles focused on topics in economics

Books and Literature

Gale Books and Authors - The fiction and nonfiction reader’s go-to site for everything: book suggestions from experts, titles, biographies, reviews, and more
Gale Literature - LitFinder - Literature database with many full-text works
NoveList K-8 Plus - NoveList K-8 Plus is especially for younger readers in grades K-8 and provides fiction and nonfiction book recommendations by subject, author, reading level, and special topics like Books to Movies.
NoveList Plus - Looking for a new book to capture your interest or one similar to an old favorite? Want to know what the next title is in your favorite series? You're in luck! NoveList Plus features lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, Read-a-Like recommendations complete series information, and more!
Pressbooks Public - This platform allows local authors to create and professionally format books, poetry, novels, and any other written content into digital and print-ready formats.
WorldCat - Search for titles in libraries near you

Encyclopedias, Reference Resources, and Law

AtoZdatabases - Search businesses, people, Mailing Lists and Sales Leads, over 7 million jobs (including résumé and cover letter templates, interviewing tips, and videos), and more.
Britannica Library - Britannica Library offers three unique sites for children, young adults, and older patrons. Access thousands of curated articles and magazines, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended websites, along with a pop-up Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Gale eBooks - Searchable collection of online reference books
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice - Full text resources

Health and Wellness

America's News - Features archives of major news sources like the Miami Herald, USA Today​, and the Orlando Sentinel as well as homework help and lesson plans with suggested topics for STEM. 
Gale Health and Wellness - Instant access to carefully compiled medical resources for consumers
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine - Full text sources and images of medical journals
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health - Full-text and images of nursing and allied health resources
Gale OneFile: Psychology - Full text resources on the study of psychology

Hobbies

Gale OneFile: Agriculture - A collection of more than 400 titles focused on Agriculture and its related fields
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture - Contains articles on gardening, landscaping, and horticulture
Gale OneFile: Home Improvement - More than 180 home-improvement focused titles
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism - Includes full collection of Fodor’s Travel Guides

Kids and Young Adults

Gale In Context (Junior Reference) - Covers history, social studies, science, and more with multimedia content, reference books, and primary sources
Gale In Context: Elementary - Research database for Elementary school students featuring reference books and magazine articles. User friendly for beginning researchers
Gale In Context: Middle School - Magazines, newspaper articles, and current events for middle school students
Gale OneFile: High School Edition - Magazines, newspaper articles, and current events for high school students
NoveList K-8 Plus - NoveList K-8 Plus is especially for younger readers in grades K-8 and provides fiction and nonfiction book recommendations by subject, author, reading level, and special topics like Books to Movies.
TumbleBooks Library - A variety of interactive books for children in English, French, and Spanish

Newspapers, Magazines, and Journals

America's News - Features archives of major news sources like the Miami Herald, USA Today​, and the Orlando Sentinel as well as homework help and lesson plans with suggested topics for STEM. 
Flipster - Current and back issues of the most popular and sought-after magazines, available digitally.
Gale Academic OneFile - Peer-reviewed, full text articles from leading journal and reference sources
Gale Academic OneFile Select - Balanced coverage of every academic discipline, all readily searchable
Gale General OneFile - Academic periodicals, general interest magazines, newspapers, and law journals
Gale OneFile Popular Magazines - 1000 of the most popular magazines available from InfoTrac
Gale OneFile: Computer Science - Access current periodicals on computers, telecommunications, and electronics industries
Orlando Sentinel - Access articles from the local region dating back to 1985
The New York Times (Off-Site) - Redeem the access code for access to the New York Times. Follow the instructions and create a login to start reading.
The New York Times (On-Site) - Full access to archives, crossword puzzles (web browser only), and article sharing.

Spanish Language

AtoZdatabases - Buscar negocios, personas, listas de correo, las oportunidades de ventas, empleos, y más.
Gale OneFile: Informe Academico - Una coleccion de revistas hispanicas con textos completos

Taxes

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) - Compete listing of IRS tax forms to review and download

Education, Languages, and Career

America's News - Features archives of major news sources like the Miami Herald, USA Today​, and the Orlando Sentinel as well as homework help and lesson plans with suggested topics for STEM. 
AtoZdatabases - Search businesses, people, Mailing Lists and Sales Leads, over 7 million jobs (including résumé and cover letter templates, interviewing tips, and videos), and more.
Gale OneFile: Educator’s Reference Complete - Articles that cover multiple levels of education, from preschool to college, and every educational specialty
Gale Presents: Peterson's Career Prep - Online career guidance center for the job-search process
Gale Presents: Peterson's Test Prep (Previously TERC) - Test preparation guides, career profiles, scholarship and school information with resume builder
LinkedIn Learning - Video learning library for leading software topics including Photoshop, 3D animation, Web Design, and more!
Mango Languages - Learn a language
Pressbooks Public - This platform allows local authors to create and professionally format books, poetry, novels, and any other written content into digital and print-ready formats.